jump to navigation

Sqeeee!!! Harry Potter!!! July 31, 2008

Posted by Alichat in Harry Potter, Movies.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I know I said that I’m not a cheap movie-geek critic who will just show up to a theatre without tickets hoping to get into a sneak peek, but there are exceptions.  Harry Potter is one of those exceptions.  For the last three films, I’ve waited outside the theatre for over an hour just to see these films at midnight on their release dates.  Mere and I even waited two hours in the hot sun to see a sneak peek of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Granted, we had tickets to all these shows, but I know had I not, I’d have been shmoozing fellow theatre goers to get myself in.  I know…I’m a movie whore! 

I doubt JK Rowling, upon writing the first book in this series, thought to herself “This book will start a phenomenon, inspiring children to turn off their tv and read books.  It will compel them to dress up as the characters and stand in line outside bookstores at midnight just to get the next installment.   These books will become movie blockbusters and make me wealthier than the Queen”  No….I doubt that’s what she thought, but that’s certainly what has happened.  The complex and intriguing world of Harry Potter is something to behold.  It has inspired loyalty and adoration along the same lines as Jane Austen’s Pride And Prejudice and JRR Tolkien’s Lord Of the Rings trilogy.  How will she ever be able to top Harry Potter?  Will she be able to top it?  I have no clue. 

What I do know…….after seeing this trailer, I need to read the book again!!

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULPhs9piG6g

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

