jump to navigation

I’d Pay To See The Waitress Uniform….. August 18, 2008

Posted by Alichat in Movies.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

So, I’m apparently behind on my Nathan sightings.  I stumbled upon this today, and it’s already 10 days old!    I am falling down on my adoration duties.  AND this contains not only my favorite Canuck, but also my favorite Texan.   Now now ladies….keep your shirt on.  It’s not Matthew McConaughey.  It’s Alan Tudyk!  You know…..Gernardt from 28 Days , Wat from A Knight’s Tale, Steve the Pirate from Dodgeball, and my favorite leaf on the wind, Wash from Firefly/Serenity.  Alan was sitting in for Leonard Maltin on his show Secret’s Out. (reelzchannel.com)  The show “uncovers the overlooked gems that were outshined by the glow of the latest blockbusters”  (yep…took that right from the website I did)  Nathan popped in for an interview to discuss one of Alan’s favorite overlooked gems, Slither

I have to say, I love this movie as well.  I’m not a big fan of gore movies.  I’ve never seen any of the Saw films, The Hills Have Eyes…and maybe some teeth because we’re all inbred.  I’m not big on gore just for the sake of gore.  I do like a good horror/sci-fi/thriller though.  Aliens, Jaws, Night of The Living Dead, Halloween (the original, not the 800 sequels), Psycho, The Shining, The Exorcist (even though it scared the shit out of me)…..I could go on.  But you see where I’m going with this.  They have a plot.  They’re bloody but not too bloody.  Suspenseful, intense, entertaining.  I also love some of the newer fare which have injected humor into the horror genre.  Shawn Of The Dead being a prime example.  I think Slither was lumped into the gore category, but it fits more into the Comedy/Horror genre.  It’s got alot of blood, zombies, alien worms, and consumption of raw meat, but it also has hilarious dialogue.  And as Nathan points out in this interview, the people’s reactions are a bit more natural.  Think about it, you bust into a house to find someone you know with a large mutated arm, weird teeth, and some bumpy looking growths on his face, and as you yell for him to stop choking his wife, he hisses and runs out.  Would you a) say “my god, I think he’s been possessed by an alien being.  We must figure out how to capture him.”  or would you b) say “Are you ok?!….is everyone ok?!……wh…uh…what the hell was that?!?”  Exactly!  So….grab the DVD, pop some corn, and sit back and be entertained.  It’s awesome.

Oh….and check out this interview.  Nathan and Alan are quite entertaining! 

http://www.reelzchannel.com/trailer-clips/35611/secrets-out-with-alan-tudyk

http://www.reelzchannel.com/trailer-clips/35678/nathan-fillion-visits-secrets-out

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

