jump to navigation

The Week in Review…. November 3, 2008

Posted by Alichat in Humor, Life, TV.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Since work has had me swamped, I didn’t get a chance to comment on some of the happenings throughout this week.  Thus, welcome to Alichat’s Week In Review!

Monday October 27th  –  Simon Le Bon turns 50!!!!!!!  For the love of all that is Durantastic, where did the time go?  It seems like only yesterday, your blonde locks and pouty stare were gracing the wall above my bed……wait a minute, it was yesterday, or more specifically, today!  Those posters are still hanging on my walls, just now in my office, and not my bedroom!  Thank you for 30 years of Duran goodness!  From pink leopard print pants to green track pants and white crocs.  Holy hell Simon, what the fuck happened??  How do you make that fashion transition?  Oh well, I still love ya!  Here’s to 50 more years of your artistry, charisma, and witty repartee!

Tuesday October 28th – Clorky is GONE!!! – I do love Dancing With The Stars.  It’s the only reality show I watch consistently.  Well, it’s not really a reality show, more like a live, scripted competition, but regardless, being a dancer, I love the show.  I didn’t, however, love Clorky.  Don’t get me wrong, Cloris Leachman is a legend.  And I have to give her credit for wanting to take on the show and the dances at her age.  She’s a year younger than my grandmother, and there’s no way my grandmother would have been out on that floor.  But it was very apparent that she was unable to keep up with the dances.  (The dances, at times, where just painful to watch.)  I can’t decide if she was intentionally playing the scatterbrained octogenarian or if she really is that.  But after Toni Braxton was prematurely sent home, and we were subjected to watching Corky Ballas (oh poor Corky) twirl Cloris like a dreidel during Hanukkah, it was most decidedly time to see her go home.  I had my doubts that it would happen.  The moment she did that death drop, I just knew people would be in a voting frenzy for her.  But luckily, I was wrong.  Thanks for the ride Cloris, but now I want off the Tilt-A-Whirl!

Wednesday October 29th – Dad’s Birthday – Today is my dad’s birthday, which as you read in the previous blog, was celebrated with a lunch and a little scattered roaming of the mall.  Happy mfthmffth Birthday Dad!!

RIP Estelle Reiner – Wife of 55 years to Carl Reiner and mother of All In the Family’s  Meathead, Rob Reiner.  Estelle Reiner passed away on October 25th at the age of 94.  A renown jazz singer who, in her short acting career, delivered one of the most memorable lines in movie history………..”I’ll have what she’s having.

Thursday October 30th – 3:20pm – Crack flashed by Paris Hilton while watching The Ellen Degeneres Show.   ***shudder***

Friday October 31st – HALLOWEEN!!!!! –  Time for the kiddies to dress up and beg for candy!  Yep…that’s how we celebrate Spirit Day.  Mutiliate some gourds, brush off the real spider webs to hang fake ones, cut holes in our white sheets to look ghostly, dress in costumes (some more scantily than others), take our kids door to door to threaten (lightly) a trick if the homeowner doesn’t toss some mass produced candy into their mass produced bags, and annually watch It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown.  Yep, that’s how we do it…..and I love it!!!      

Saturday November 1st – Kath & Kim gets a full season? – HUH?!?!  This must really be a Halloween trick.  How did that awful show get a full season pick up by NBC???  Is anyone even watching that show?  Did NBC think this would be a treat for tv viewers?  What would have been a treat for me?  If Pushing Daisies had been given a full season pick up.  I LOVE that show!  If you aren’t watching it, you should be publicly flogged!  It’s whimsical, romantic, funny, intelligently scripted, and for all you Harry Potter fans, narrated by Jim Dale!  What more could you want?     

Sunday November 2nd – SNL TANKED! – Wow did SNL suck the stinky cheese last night!  I was excited when McCain and Tina Fey actually delivered a funny opening.  And while I’m not impressed with Affleck’s acting chops, I thought he’d al least be able to deliver funny dialogue conveniently written on cue cards for him.  The problem…..the skits weren’t funny.  That Target skit was just aggravating, and the Night School Musical was like nails on a chalkboard.  I had high hopes for the skit on The View.  Kenan Thompson as Whoopi Goldberg was well done.  Fred Armison got Joy Behar’s mannerisms down, although you’d think they’d be able to slather on enough makeup to hide his 5 o’clock shadow.  Ben Affleck nailed Alec Baldwin’s voice, but hell, couldn’t we just get Baldwin on to do that bit?  Was there no actress to do Barbara Walters?  What was with adding Jennifer Aniston to the panel?  And why did she act more like Jessica Simpson than Jennifer Aniston?  There were lulls in the conversation.  Most of the dialogue was just boring.   The skit would have been funnier if they’d actually used some of the things Elizabeth Hasselbeck has said on the show during this campaign, then have her interrupt everyone who is trying to state an opinion.  What was funny about last night’s show…..Seth Meyers and Weekend Update.  What the hell are they going to do now that Amy Poehler is gone?

Comments»

1. Leah Moak Newman - March 26, 2009

Every 50-year-old man should be so lucky as to look like Simon!


Leave a Reply

