jump to navigation

Early Morning Giggles July 6, 2009

Posted by Alichat in Harry Potter, Humor, Movies.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’ve been rereading Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince in anticipation of the movie release next week.  I’m at the halfway point where Harry and Ron are at The Burrow for the Christmas holiday, and Ron has just received his gaudy gold “My Sweetheart” chain from Lavender.  Love it!  I’d forgotten how great JK Rowling’s world is.  Last week it was announced that Bill Nighy had been cast to portray the new Minister of Magic, Rufus Scrimgeour.  Rufus makes many appearances in the 6th book, but apparently will not appear on screen until the 7th and 8th film.  Odd as he’s introduced in the 6th book and makes many prominent appearances, but I digress.  So, as you may know, Bill Nighy is well known for many roles, but one in particular is as Viktor, the leader of the vampires in the movie Underworld.  Last night, or should I say this morning around 2am (no, I really don’t sleep much), I was reading some more and came upon this passage.  It’s from chapter 15, when Harry and Luna are walking to Slughorn’s Christmas party. 

  • “Hi,” Harry said.  “Shall we get going then?” 
  • “Oh yes,” she said happily.  “Where is the party?”
  • “Slughorn’s office,” said Harry, leading her up the marble staircase away from all the staring and muttering.  “Did you hear, there’s supposed to be a vampire coming?”
  • “Rufus Scrimgeour?” asked Luna.
  • “I — what?” said Harry, disconcerted.  “You mean the Minister of Magic?” 
  • Yes, he’s a vampire,” said Luna matter-of-factly.  “Father wrote a very long article about it when Scrimgeour first took over from Cornelius Fudge, but he was forced not to publish by somebody from the Ministry.  Obviously, they didn’t want the truth to get out!”

Funny, no?

Speaking of vampires, as you will recall, Michael Sheen decided he wants to portray “Dobby’s tranny older brother” if cast in a Harry Potter film.  So, of course I had to reply.  Love Michael Sheen.  I asked him to refresh my memory, and was this Knobby the house elf who was always found rummaging though Hermione’s wardrobe, or Chelsy the house elf who quietly became Chilton the house elf?   He replied “I want to play Knobby!!”  It was only later that I remembered that knob is a British slang for a man’s penis.  Yes, I know…I laughed too.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

