jump to navigation

It’s Not Realistic June 28, 2012

Posted by Alichat in Humor, Life, Movies, Random, TV.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Last night I rented This Means War (thank you free Red Box rental code) with Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine, and Tom Hardy, and directed by McG (of Charlie’s Angels and Terminator Salvation fame.) It’s a funny, cute movie about two spies, best friends, who are dating the same woman. It becomes a competition, and hilarity ensues. I have to admit, I wasn’t thrilled with the ending. Not how I would have had it end. Of course the movie ended with a critique…..a standard for me.  As the credits are rolling, 9 times out of 10, I will turn to those with me and say “So what did you think?” And then proceed to rattle off the thing or two I would have changed or added to the film.  Couple of examples….The Hunger Games – there needed to be more bonding conversations between Katniss and Peeta in the cave, and I’d have altered the conversation between Rue and Katniss when Rue asks if the romance is real.  Dark Shadows – Needed more relatable humor that would appeal to those audience members who had never seen the tv series.

So, this is not to say that I don’t like these movies….I just have no problem with giving constructive criticism.  And I think I discovered tonight why I am the way I am.  I blame my mother.  Growing up, my mother was always a critical viewer.  She still is today, but now the critiques are peppered with questions…..outloud……in the theatre…….during the film.  Shepherd Book was right that there is a special place in hell for people who talk in the theatre, although I think my mother’s immersion in her religion may counter all the invitations she gets for that special place so don’t get too worried for her soul.

But I digress.  Granted some of these questions become unintentionally entertaining, like the time we were watching Burn After Reading in a packed theatre.  After Frank (George Clooney) and Katie (Tilda Swinton) have sex, we are left with a short shot of the bed in disarray with a purple Liberator Sex Ramp sitting in the middle of it.  She leans in and loudly asks “Is that pillow for her sinuses?” I quietly shake my head no. “Well, then what is it fo……ohhhh.” The entire theatre is now giggling. Growing up, typically her comments pertained to the believability of a scene. The most popular comment, and a family favorite, was “now you know there is no way he’d walk away from that accident.”  Followed by many eye rolls from my siblings and me.  As I was starting the movie last night, she called, and this is the conversation that set off my light bulb.

Mom: “So what are you doing?”
Me: “Getting ready to watch This Means War
Mom: “Oh I’ve seen that! It’s a fun movie”
Me: “Oh good”
Mom: “You’ll enjoy it”
Me: “Ok”
Mom: “I mean, it’s not realistic.  But it’s cute. You’ll like it.”
Me: “Uh…ok”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

