jump to navigation

Magic Mike & Cheese November 7, 2012

Posted by Alichat in Food, Humor, Life, Movies.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Thank you free RedBox code!!  I hit my tolerance level for all the political ads last week, which is why I voted on Friday.  So, for the last week, I have been making sure I saw as little political news as possible.  It was just too much.  I used the code last night to rent a movie I had hoped to see in theatres but was never able to. 

Yep, nekkid pretty, pretty men!!  I’ll pause for a moment to allow you to think about Matt Bomer in a thong.

Ok then.  For some reason, now that I’m unemployed, I have been cooking a lot.  Well, I cook a lot normally, so I should say I have been trying out new recipes.  Mini Chicken Pot Pies……Lemon Lentil Soup…..Fig Relish…..Ginger Chocolate Cupcakes….I’m going to attempt some Pumpkin Gnocchi soon.  Today it was Macaroni & Cheese.  

I’m not really supposed to eat lots of carbs, and, of course, fat.  So I don’t really have a low fat, low carb, go-to recipe for mac & cheese.  But Abby was coming to see all the bare bum goodness, so seemed like a good enough time to try to concoct a lower fat, lower carb Mac & Cheese.  Having a guest means you don’t have to eat the leftovers if it’s not that good, right?

Seems mac & cheese was a solid dinner choice to pair with Magic Mike.  The movie was entertaining, along with all the hip swirling goodness!  But, for a Soderbergh movie, the dialogue was a little on the cheesy side.  Luckily, Channing Tatum proved very adept at delivering these lines in a believable and charming way.  Really, I’m serious!  But on occasion we would find ourselves giggling at scenes that were probably meant to be dramatic.  And for that, I am to blame.  Well me and Joe Manganiello are to blame.  Along with the mac & cheese, I cooked some smoked bratwurst.  Early in the movie, I am eating my dinner.  I cut a piece of bratwurst, put it into my mouth, then look up to see Joe Manganiello, as Big Dick Ritchie, lengthening his namesake with a pump.  And if you’ve seen the movie, you know this task takes up a large portion of the screen.  So here I sit looking at my 46 inch HD tv, biting on a piece of bratwurst while watching a large one slowly…..expand…..across…..my….screen.  The absurdity of it all left me giggling throughout the movie.  It was so startling that during the next scene, which was a big number to ‘It’s Raining Men,’ I found myself critiquing the dance performance of the guys instead of enjoying the strippy goodness.  It should be noted, Matt Bomer was a beat off from everyone else, Manganiello was a little stiff (stop it….stop laughing,) and Kevin Nash just stood there like a statue. (Seriously….why was he in the movie??)  But honestly!  They’re doing a strip number, and instead of soaking up the array of six packs, I was scanning for missed steps and bad timings.  I know….absurd!  The Mac & Cheese turned out better than I thought it would. I’d post a picture but I didn’t take one sadly. The movie had just started.  I….I was distracted.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

