jump to navigation

Fringe Binge November 28, 2012

Posted by Alichat in Humor, Life, Random, TV.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Tonight, I am Fringe bingeing.  The Science Channel is now airing all 5 seasons of Fringe.  If you don’t know what show I am talking about, what’s wrong with you?!?

The Fringe season 3 poster….my favorite since it’s the one that is on my Comic-Con bag!

Fringe is the Fox series created by JJ Abrams and starring Anna Torv, Joshua Jackson, and John Noble.  It’s a science-fiction series about an FBI agent who investigates odd occurrences or fringe events.  Assisting her in the investigations are Dr Walter Bishop (Noble,) a Red-Vines-loving scientist who used to run experiments for the government and is the forefather of a lot of the fringe events, and Peter Bishop (Jackson,) his nomadic, estranged, reformed con man son.  Both men have IQs that sit 50 points above the genius level, which always makes for interesting, albeit somewhat gruesome cases, and witty banter.  But, that’s just really the window dressing on the show.  At its heart, Fringe is about love and relationships, and the family created by these three characters and Walter’s assistant, FBI Agent Astrid Farnsworth (Jasika Nicole.)  It’s a fantastic series which is my Buffy show meaning I won’t answer the phone or texts while watching, ‘natch, and has just as fervent a following as Buffy The Vampire Slayer.  It also helped me develop an appreciation of Joshua Jackson’s nuanced acting.  When the show started, he was still just Pacey from Dawson Reeks…I mean Dawson’s Creek, so….eh.  But now, I like him!  And Anna Torv, an unknown until this show.  Let’s not even start on John Noble and the four Emmys he should have on his mantle by now. (Hello Emmy voters?!!)

So, the Science Channel began airing the first season last Tuesday starting at 8pm, and airing three episodes each week.  But, in light of the holiday, they aired all of season 1 over a two-day period.  (Sweet!!)  So, Friday night and all day Saturday, I binged on Fringe.  It was like crack.  I couldn’t stop watching, except for those moments when I tripped over my dog!  Tipsy kept herself glued to my side all weekend.  I’m not sure why she was clingy, but I began referring to her as Lt Worf.  Anyway, my television channel did not change for two days.  I also ended up watching a few How It’s Made episodes.  Did you know it takes 5 years for a walnut to grow?  I know, insane right?  But I digress….so it’s been fun seeing all these episodes again and all the seeds planted back in season 1 which reference what is going on now in season 5.  Although, I have all of these seasons on DVD, so I suppose I could have watched them again on my own to re-experience these mythology seeds.  Hmmm, I just cemented my geek status by revealing that didn’t I?  Oh well, I also binged on pumpkin pie Sunday night, thus cementing my fat ass status!

Mmmm…..piiiieeee……..

Comments»

1. Dennis - November 28, 2012

Yep, the Science Channel is great. LOL re phat chass comment – HN!


Leave a Reply

