jump to navigation

Biscuit, Biscuit, Who’s Got the Biscuit? December 1, 2012

Posted by Alichat in Food, Humor, Life.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Today, Saturday December 1st, the day of my brother’s birth, I decided to try a new doggie biscuit recipe.  No, one really has nothing to do with the other.  I just thought I’d mention for a third time today that my little brother is getting older.  Ha!

Chicken & Cheddar Treats on RackI did try a new biscuit recipe though.  I made doggie biscuits last year as Christmas gift bags for my family and friend’s dogs.  Problem is I can’t find the recipes.  I altered them a bit, and, as usual, didn’t write down the adjusted recipe.  I switched to a new computer earlier this year, so I think I may have lost the links when converting to this computer.  It was a Peanut Butter and Pumpkin cookie, and a Chicken & Garlic cookie.  Tipsy really enjoyed them last time.  Sigh.  I think I may have found the original PB&P recipe, but not the chicken one.  But I did stumble across this Chicken & Cheddar biscuit recipe from Delish blog.

I baked a half batch, just in case Tipsy didn’t like them.  And instead of using wheat flour, which I don’t have, or white all-purpose flour, which I don’t like to use often, I used oat flour.  (Grind up those rolled oats people!  You should be eating steel-cut for breakfast anyway!)  I added some chopped fresh parsley for color, tummy, and breathy goodness.  I rolled them into small balls, and then flattened them into little round treats. They’re not bad.  A little greasy because I used extra sharp cheddar cheese, but otherwise pretty tasty! And I would know…..I tasted a couple.  What?!  It’s melted cheddar!  You could put that on a roof shingle, and it would taste good!  Tipsy loved them!

Tipsy Approved!

Tipsy Approved!

I think next time I will add a couple of Tbs of wheat germ, *cut back on the oil, and maybe add a pinch of roasted garlic.  Do you have any homemade doggie treat recipes?

Chicken & Cheddar Oat Treats

  • 2/3 cup of oat flour
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar
  • 3 Tbs low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 Tbs vegetable or olive oil*
  • chopped fresh parsley

Mix together all the ingredients.  Form into small balls, and then flatten onto a cookie sheet.  Bake for 20 – 25 minutes in a 350 degree oven.Chicken & Cheddar Treat

Comments»

1. Kirsten - December 13, 2012

May have to check this with my doggie’s vet (he’s got a sensitive stomach) and then try it.


Leave a Reply

