jump to navigation

Biscuit, Biscuit, Take 2 December 19, 2012

Posted by Alichat in Food, Life, Random.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

So I think I have the biscuit recipe down.  Well one of them down.  I tweaked the Chicken Cheddar biscuit a bit again, and this seems to be the best so far.  Tipsy can not stop eating them.  Dog Biscuit 2012 2012-12-12 009Actually, she drools a little when I pull them out.  I made a bunch to give as Christmas gifts for family members’ dogs, and she held vigil at the table, and left a puddle, while I was bagging up the cookies.  I had to hide the doggie bags so she wouldn’t raid them!  So here’s the finished recipe I arrived at.  I might tweak it some in the future. Oh….and they’re still pretty tasty! So if we have another incident where someone accidentally eats one thinking they are human cookies **cough Sami cough**, they should be pleasantly surprised!  LOL!

Chicken Cheddar Dog Biscuits

1/3 cup oat flour
1/3 cup wheat germ
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/3 cup + 1 Tbs Low Sodium Chicken Broth
3 Tbs vegetable oil
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl.  Lightly flour a flat surface and roll the dough out to about 1/2 inch.  Cut into shapes (I just did a biscuit round this time) and place on a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Lightly brush the tops with chicken broth, and bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes (maybe longer depending on the size of your cookie) until golden.

As you can see in the picture above, I also made some Peanut Butter & Pumpkin biscuits. (Same cookie mistakenly consumed last year. Guess I need to get a doggie bone cookie cutter!) The recipe I used is from here. I altered it a bit……of course.  I substituted 1/2 cup of the flour with wheat germ.  And I may change it on the next batch and use oat flour.  Also, I left out the salt because why add that when they get it with the peanut butter?  Then I brushed them with water before putting them in the oven.  Tipsy likes them, but not as much as the Chicken Cheddar biscuits!  Next up….a minty biscuit for that bad doggie breath!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

